Week 8 – WINOL, Second Radio Show, and WinchXtra Bonfire

WINOL

This week was by far the most busiest and stressful this semester, but it was full of learning points and I have gained valuable experience from it all.

I continued my producer role on WINOL, and we had the Senior Editor of Sky News, Ian Sherwood, in as guest editor. He was a fantastic guest editor and gave great advice and help to us all throughout the Wednesday. For me in particular, it was fantastic to have him sat next to me while I put together the headlines. He helped me understand how to use the best quotes and use sound effectively, along with the styling of the script – which clashed with Ian Anderson’s BBC scripting knowledge, which was a great teaching point.

The stories on WINOL this week were absolutely fantastic, and we had Nick Clegg as our main story – incredible!

On top of this, I reworked one of Alex Delaney’s packages and rescripted it, which was the Sajid Javid package second in the bulletin. I was told that my use of sound was more experienced and that was down to my understanding of Radio.

Due to this busy Wednesday, and the hectic day of radio on the Thursday, I was unable to finish my WinchXtra package which was a great mistake in my judgement of time allocation. It was said that it was due to being overly ambitious, and that it wasn’t considered a bad thing, so I am going to take this in my stride and work to become more efficient and manage my time more realistically.

RADIO

Radio on the thursday, however, went very well.

The music was better managed, but could be tidied up much more – I want to create more of a consistent feel and come away from the Sound Radio beds, my presenting was much more toned down and much better, and the packages were generally way more interesting and more relevant to the demographic.

In post production, I was able to edit the show to sound much smoother (removal of clicking, no dead air). However, I stylised the bedding in the wrong way – I was matching it to the general output from the jockeys on BBC Radio 1, rather than Newsbeat. There is a major different – no major dipping of music, consistent flow, slight change in music when going on to a new topic.

I scripted this week’s show, and I feel I relaxed the script to some degree, as well as my presenting.

Leave a comment